<< back to GlassesShop reviewNEXT (Coastal review) >>

Goggles4u

reviewed by Matt on
http://www.goggles4u.com

 

The following is a purchase review based on my own experience. This experience does not necessarily reflect the experience that others may have when buying glasses from the above retailer. Keep in mind that each purchase review/experience pertains to ONE order. If my experience went well, it is no guarantee that yours will go well. If mine went poorly, there’s no guarantee that yours will go poorly. Purchases may be placed under varying addresses under various names in an effort to keep orders “anonymous” so that orders do not receive “special treatment” above and beyond what a normal customer would receive. Finally, while every effort is made to keep each review unbiased, note that it is subject to my own opinion.

most recent purchase (2009)

Order Placed – Oct 23, 2009

Glasses were ordered. Frames were $9.99 (most frames from Goggles4u are the same price), standard 1.56 lenses were $20. The glasses came with free anti-scratch, UV and AR (anti-reflective) coatings. Worldwide shipping was free, bringing the total price to $29.99.

 

Order Shipped – Nov 2, 2009

Goggles4u does not send an email telling you when the order has shipped. However, you can find the shipping status on the CCNow website (CCNow is the payment processor for Goggles4u).

 

Order Received – Nov 6, 2009 (14 days)

The glasses arrived, and the cloth envelope stated that they’d shipped from Pakistan. 2 weeks is certainly a reasonable time-frame for glasses going from Pakistan to Canada

 

Packaging

Inside the cloth “envelope” was a styrofoam box, containing the glasses case. Within the case, the glasses were further protected with cotton, and the lenses wrapped in a microfiber cloth. A lot of thought has obviously been taken to ensure that the glasses are not damaged during shipping.

Goggles4u review - 2009 - packaging 1 Goggles4u review - 2009 - packaging 2 Goggles4u review - 2009 - overview
click on any of the images above for a full-size image in a pop-up window

Pretty simple – Well-packaged, and Goggles4u also includes a free pair of extra nosepads.

 

First impressions & Quality

The frames were stiff. I’d have no concerns about them breaking on their own, although adjusting them had a bit of a “brittle” feeling to them (I wouldn’t try bending anything other than the nosepads, as it requires a lot of force with these frames). They did need slight adjusting.

The lenses were well-cut to the extent that they fit well into the frames (no gaps/spaces). However, they were horizontally offset slightly from each other – one lens stuck out near the center, while the other lens stuck out a little near the arm at the side. Now, lenses won’t always fit within the width of the frame (and the excess has to stick out somewhere). However, this is the first time I’ve encountered lenses not being symmetrical in this fashion (generally, lenses tend to be relatively flush with the outwards-facing part of the frame with excess being on the inside where it won’t be seen by others). Note that this is primarily a cosmetic issue (the prescription and vision seemed to be fine), but it’s certainly something to note.

The other lens issues revolved around the left lens. Upon close inspection of the lens, there was a marking that resembles a stone-chip (although it wasn’t a chip, it just looked like one under the right lighting conditions) with a small “squiggle”. It appeared to be embedded under the coating. In certain light conditions, this caused a blur. There were also a couple scuff lines in the lower part of the left lens – again only visible in certain light conditions, but they had absolutely no negative effect on the vision.

The AR coating had a greenish/purplish color to it. I ran the glasses through the hot water test, and they passed (no cracking).

All around, while I was pleased with the lengths they went to during packaging, and the AR coating itself, it really didn’t seem that a lot of time and care was given to the lenses themselves, which was a bit of a disappointment.

Goggles4u review - 2009 - glasses 1 Goggles4u review - 2009 - glasses 2 Goggles4u review - 2009 - glasses 3 Goggles4u review - 2009 - glasses 4 - inspecting AR coating
click on any of the images above for a full-size image in a pop-up window

 

Final Thoughts

I really wasn’t thrilled with the craftsmanship of the lenses. I could rant for paragraphs on this, but suffice it to say, I really hope Goggles4u spends time improving this area. I can understand the issues with the left lens being missed in a quick inspection since they were only visible in certain light conditions. The “fit and finish” aspect of things was very obvious though and there really isn’t any excuse for it being as poor as it was. On a positive note, the AR coating passed the hot water test, and the glasses were very well packaged. Those positives tend to become dwarfed pretty quickly though by the negative issues with the lenses.

 

Would I buy from Goggles4u again based on this purchase?

Maybe. I wouldn’t for an everyday pair (based on this purchase anyway), but they’d be fine for a back-up pair.

 

Would I recommend Goggles4u to others based on this purchase?

Maybe. Goggles4u is BBB accredited, and has been known for their willingness to send replacements when there’s an issue. That said, the recommendation would depend largely on what the intended use is. If it’s for a backup pair, sure. I also know quite a few people who own quite a few glasses and rotate them with their wardrobe. Goggles4u’s huge frame selection lends nicely to this. However, for someone looking for an everyday pair, I’d really tend to suggest looking elsewhere.

Click here to visit the Goggles4u website / Click here to go to the Goggles4u information page

<< back to GlassesShop reviewNEXT (Coastal review) >>

previous purchase (2006)

Order Placed – Jan 11, 2006

I placed an order for glasses via the website. I chose some semi-rimless frames, the regular CR39 lenses, and added “Grey Dark Tint” in the special instructions box. Opting for tinted lenses generally means that they don’t get an AR coating, but there was no extra cost for tint, so I decided to go for it. After shipping (which was free), the total came to $25.99. After ordering, an email was sent to me through CCNow that gave a link where I could check the status of my glasses at any time.

 

Order Shipped – Jan 15, 2006

My glasses shipped. (I checked the CCNow link each day to watch the order status)

 

Order Received – Jan 30, 2006

Received my glasses in the mail. Free with the glasses were a hard case, micro-fiber cloth, and a set of replacement nose-pads and screws. While I don’t expect I will be burning through nose-pads or losing screws, it was nice to get a free backup set in case I do.

Pictures (click on any of the thumbnails to open the image full-size in a new window)

Goggles4u review - Jan 2006 - packaging (cloth bag) 1 Goggles4u review - Jan 2006 - packaging (cloth bag) 2 Goggles4u review - Jan 2006 - Glasses Overview Goggles4u review - Jan 2006 - opened glasses case Goggles4u review - Jan 2006 - opening glasses Goggles4u review - Jan 2006 - tinted glasses overview
#1 and #2 are the packaging. Yes it is simply cloth sewn together, but it worked. I edited out my address (#2), but it was printed extremely neatly. Within the cloth “envelope” there was a white box which has seen better days (all the corners were squashed during shipping), but within the white box was the black hard clamshell case, definitely sufficient in keeping the glasses safe from harm. #4 and #5 are pretty self-explanatory, basically the glasses were wrapped in the micro-fiber cloth which was then wrapped in cotton which was then put into the black clamshell case. Despite the envelope being cloth, for the glasses to actually get damaged during shipping would probably be extremely difficult, as a lot of thought was put into the packing. The final picture (#6) is simply of the glasses laid out beside the micro-fiber cloth and the free nose-pads/screws that were included.

 

Order Received – Jan 30, 2006 (continued)

All in all I was pretty impressed with the packing. I knew it was going to be sent in a cloth envelope, so I had initially been a little worried, but it seems I was worried for nothing. The glasses did need a quick rinse to get some cotton off that got caught in the arms, but other than that they were perfectly fine. The frames seemed solid, and of good quality. One of the lenses had a groove that was cut a little sloppy (semi-rimless and rimless glasses have grooves cut for a clear line/wire which holds the lenses in place), but the wire was firmly in place, so I’m not overly concerned, although it was worth a mention.

Total time between ordering and delivery: 19 days
Time to ship: 4 days
Time in transit: 15 days:

 

Would I buy from Goggles4u again based on this purchase?

Yes. In fact I will probably order a clear pair at some point so that I get a chance to examine the AR coating. That aside, the glasses are very inexpensive, and the quality was satisfactory.

 

Would I recommend Goggles4u to others based on this purchase?

Probably. One simple reason… price. If you want an AR coating, you can’t beat Goggles4u for price. Even if you don’t care about the AR coating, the pricing is still very competitive. As far as quality goes, the glasses I received were satisfactory, nothing to boast about, but nothing to complain about either. I would definitely recommend them for a 2nd or backup pair. As far as a primary pair, I’ll wait until I order a set of clear lenses before making a recommendation one way or the other.

 

Click here to visit the Goggles4u website / Click here to go to the Goggles4u information page

 

<< back to GlassesShop reviewNEXT (Coastal review) >>






Have friends that wear glasses? If you found Eyeglass Retailer Reviews helpful, why not recommend it to some friends on Facebook?